NHERI GSC: EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING AGENDA

Date: 6 Sep 2024 **Time:** 11:00 am CST **Location:** ZOOM

Meeting Start: 11:01 AM CST

Item 1: President's Welcome (Emmaleah Jones)

Item 2: Review of Prior Minutes (Jordan Nakayama)

• Previous meeting minutes (August 2nd) passed

• Attendance for the meeting is as follows:

Executive Position	Name	Attendance Y/N
President	Emmaleah Jones	Y
Vice President	Richard Campos	Y
Secretary	Jordan Nakayama	Y
Vice Secretary	Anamika Malla	Y
Treasurer	Natalie Coleman	Y
Vice Treasurer	Burak Duran	Y
Chair Workshop & Mentoring	Rajendra Gauntam	Y
Vice-Chair Workshop & Mentoring	Benjamin Labar	N
Chair Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion	Harman Singh	Y
Vice-Chair Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion	Nasimeh Rashidi	Y
Chair Research	Nurullah Bektas	Y
Vice-Chair Research	Soolmaz Khoshkalam	N
Chair Networking & Community	Julie Elliot	N
Vice-Chair Networking & Community	Shelly McMullen	Y
Chair Membership	Daniel Yahya	Y
Vice-Chair Membership	Wessam Mohamed	N
Chair Technology & Communication	Avipriyo Chakraborty	Y
Vic-Chair Technology & Communication	Vishal Mishra	N
User Forum Rep	Esteban Villalobos Vega	Y
President-Emeritus	Holly Davies	Y

Additional member attendance: Erin Boyle, Juan Andres Linares Briceno, Samantha O'Connell, Bijan Sayyafzdeh, Mohamed Hassan, Rodrigo Perez, Arina Chauhan, Diako Abbasi, Richard Antwi, Marlio, Fouad Elazaka, Prince Lawson, Abdulahi Opejin, Javier Robles Camacho, Eric Twum Barima, Umar Zada, Anoop Kumar Tiwari, Victor Semenu, Ryan Brenner, Anika, Urinrin Otite, Arezoo, Samir Nepal, Mohammad Movahedi, Shayan Razi, Ayomide Kazeem

Item 3: Treasurer's Report (Natalie Coleman)

- Proposal writing committee:
 - Meeting to finalize the EMI conference proposal this week and will send out a draft to the executive committee for feedback.



- Completed the document which outlines the selection process for how students will be selected to receive conference funding. This document will be shared with Jordan and passed out with the submission of the minutes for this meeting.
- If you would like to be involved in the Proposal Committee, email Natalie and Burak.
 Natalie will be facilitating a transition meeting for the new Treasurer and will pass on the email list for the Proposal Committee at that time.

Item 4: NHERI Updates (Robin Nelson)

- Fall 2024 Officer and Chair Election results are as follows:
 - o President Harman Singh
 - o Chair of Membership Daniel Yahya
 - o Chair of Workshop & Mentoring Rajendra Gauntam
 - o Chair of Social Media & Outreach Avipriyo Chakraborty
 - o Chair of Networking & Community Building Shelley Mc Mullen
 - o Earthquake RSR Anoop Kumar Tiwari
 - o Computational Simulation RSR Bijan Sayyaf Zadeh
 - o Social Sciences Erin Boyle
- There are a few positions still in need of nominations. If you would like to nominate yourself or another student nominations are open until September 20th. You must have attended 2 meetings and be a registered member of NHERI GSC.
 - o Nomination link: https://bit.ly/2024NHERIGSC_FallNominations2
- NCO and ECO have been extended for another 5 years along with the NHERI SimCenter, RAPID, and DesignSafe!

Item 5: Standing Committee Updates (Any or all groups)

Research: Nurullah (nurullahbektas@hotmail.com) and Soolmaz (skhoshkalam@umassd.edu)

• The NHERI GSC Mini-Conference event review paper has been submitted to journal for acceptance.

DEI: Harman (harmansingh1412@gmail.com) and Nasimeh (nasimeh.rashidi@wsu.edu)

- Hosting the DEI workshop "Reciprocity in Natural Hazard and Disaster Research" September 27th 11-1PM CST.
 - o Register: https://bit.ly/2024NHERIGSC_DEIWorkshop
- Still looking for facilitators to host breakout room sessions. Training will be provided on September 20th following the NHERI GSC General Body meeting. Email Harman if you are interested in being a facilitator for the workshop.

Membership: Daniel (div0001@auburn.edu) and Wessam (wesammm2@illinois.edu)

• The US and International campaign emails have been sent out. We have seen an increase in membership during these efforts!

User Forum: Esteban (esteban.villalobos@ou.edu)

- Planning the meeting to brainstorm proposals for the NCO support based on the comments/ideas emailed to Esteban. If you responded to the email with an idea, please be on the lookout for an email invitation to this meeting.
- Harman and Esteban will facilitate a separate meeting to discuss this idea further before presenting to NCO.

Social Media and Outreach: Avipriyo (<u>avipriyo.chakraborty@students.jsums.edu</u>) and Vishal (vmishra1@ce.iitr.ac.in)

• If you have any announcements you would like to share on social media channels email Avi.

Item 6: AOB (Jordan Nakayama)

 Confirming Next Meeting & Speaker – Dr. Lisa Wang, Old Dominion University, September 20th at 11:00 AM CST

Meeting Close: 12:01 PM CST



Notes and Action Items